Give Me the Reason, Or Gimme 5

FiveQ: What’s your valid business reason for seeking my time and attention?

A: You’d better be able to answer this clearly and concisely before you ask.

The valid business reason will only sound as good as you believe it to be. For a time, I worked as a commission only appointment setter.  I became skilled at establishing a valid business reason to take a meeting and being able to communicate that very quickly, over the phone, to the C suite. Those skills have served me well since then, now that I’m selling long term, high ticket solutions to upper management types.

The art of converting ambiguity to substance is worth a lot. You only get a maximum of 1 chance to make a bad first impression by delivering a wasteful meeting experience.

But what happens in order to secure that meeting is critical first. Of the many ways that come to mind, here are FIVE:

Know your prospect. Do the research. Prepare a written brief if you have to. Take the time. Search them online in general and in social media specifically.

Don’t small talk. Last night I got a call from an unknown number to my cell. It was the blood care folks asking me to donate. After getting me to pick up an unknown caller, then asking me how I am, the caller then asked me about the weather. I wanted to hang up, except that I actually was interested in donating blood. Please know when to stop.

Reference a success with another customer. Recently, a project of mine got some media coverage.  Boy was it easy to get meetings after that happened. All I had to do was reference the story verbally or forward the article via email. Instant meeting closed.

Use a trigger. Is there a deadline approaching for them or for you? A new product release? A change in personnel that might invite a training opportunity or simply a cause for change? Where are we in the budget year – does it need to be spent before lost? Have they had a competitive change or a change of market position?

Always know your value. If you truly have the BEST, or the ONLY, or the MOST efficient solution, make it known upfront concisely enough to hook a distracted mind. Is this the only chance for the customer to get an audience with your upper management, in turn, a direct line of communication to a higher level decision maker at your organization?

These suggestions tend to work for me.

 

About Melanie M. Morris
Broker of Trust and Authenticity I'm really a sales executive, but I'd rather identify with these ideals rather than to simply say...I'm a seller.

Leave a Reply

