Blame and 4 Other Bad Habits to Banish

      blame

Think about the last time that you blamed someone else for when things did not go the way you’d hoped.  For me, this happened last night, while making dinner, when power struggles have happened frequently in my home.   I married a picky eater, but I was raised by someone whose rule was, “Eat what I make or don’t eat at all.” 

My husband and I have a trick we’ve learned to diffuse the frustration caused by our differences with a quick shot of humor.  When we start to feel the friction rise, we remind each other – “You Chose Me”, followed by a quick and easy laugh.  It’s a reminder that we all make choices and blaming others for the choices we make doesn’t make either person feel better.  Ever.

Failing to hear others when their perception of your words/actions differs from your intent, especially when that perception is unfavorable.  When this happens, your intent is irrelevant, if this person matters to you.  Whether your spouse, your child, your boss, your customer, failing to heed their perception and accomodate it means you lose.

Thinking success is the biggest title/salary/material possession.  While it’s true that success is being content with what one has, I’d go a step further and describe success as being able to do for others – materially or simply through actions.

Not honoring people for where they are, when it’s not where you want them to be.    The power is in the diversity.  This is what builds the best teams and relationships.

Limited self acceptance.  No one will ever think you are cooler than you think you are.  Everything you do teaches others how you wish to be treated.   It’s all one giant cause and effect.

About Melanie M. Morris
Broker of Trust and Authenticity I'm really a sales executive, but I'd rather identify with these ideals rather than to simply say...I'm a seller.

Leave a comment