Chasing that Sale–a Matter of Life or Death?

Those of you who know me know that I’ve recently transitioned from media sales into healthcare, specifically hospice.  After having completed my first week, here’s the most significant observation I’ve made about the people perspective.

My past 25+ years in media sales have been spent in a highly charged, intensely competitive environment.   The pressure at times was presented to us as if it were the most important thing you could imagine.  Win this one or risk the consequences.  Oftentimes, one felt that their job was hanging in the balance as a result of a particular pending sale.

There was more than a time or two where I’d describe the perspective of the involved parties as though this pending sale was a matter of life or death. 

Now I am surrounded by professionals whose efforts actually do result in life or death consequences.   And I’ve observed that these people are far calmer and more controlled than the aforementioned group.  The irony of that is comforting.  Wouldn’t you want to be surrounded by calm people if your life were in their hands?

About Melanie M. Morris
Broker of Trust and Authenticity I'm really a sales executive, but I'd rather identify with these ideals rather than to simply say...I'm a seller.

4 Responses to Chasing that Sale–a Matter of Life or Death?

  1. Mike Krejci says:

    From someone who is still in media sales, I love this post Mel. It puts things in perspective.

  2. Melanie M. Morris says:

    Mikey – I always appreciate your feedback. And especially this time because I didn’t want to offend anyone in “my previous life”.
    But, like I said, it’s just an observation, not a judgement.

  3. Mike Donnelly says:

    You couldn’t be more correct Mel. My Mom is currently being held in Hospice and I think about that all the time. She’s also in her mid 60’s, which makes me think about chasing alot more than just that media sale. Life’s too short!

    • Melanie M. Morris says:

      Mike – so great to hear from you, although I’m sorry to hear about your mom. These are teaching experiences.

Leave a Reply

